Uber is making it much easier to delete Uber

Image: carl court/ getty epitomes

Were you on Team # DeleteUber but never actually removed the app? Or are you just now realise that Uber is a corporation full of countless damning difficulties?

Well, you’re in luck. Uber is stimulating it easier for you to delete the app from your smartphone.

Uber users can now remove the app instantly from their smartphone without having to contact customer support. According to TechCrunch , this process was announced “Dear John” internally and was designed over the last year( therefore long before #DeleteUber was trending across social media ).

Uber is still putting a fail safe in. Uber will retain a user’s data for 30 eras after they opt to delete their history. So, if you change your spirit( as in perhaps someone from Harry Potter exerts a pensieve to attract your recollections of all the tainted circumstances they have done ), you are able to restore your account.

Prior to this update, Uber useds had to contact Uber and customer services representatives had to deal with any such requests separately. There was no automated organization, like prevails now. That became a massive trouble when 500,000 beings requested to delete their notes following the company’s actions during a protest over President Donald Trump’s travel ban, The New York Times reported.

Beyond stimulating it easier to delete Uber, the app is introducing more privacy facets. Consumers can now choose, within the app, to no longer receive notifications for ride informs or for discounts.

Uber is also stimulating it easier for useds to understand, again within the app, how often of their location data Uber knows. No, it’s not letting you restraint that. You can either select always or never for location tracking( but you need it on to use the app effectively, as in you would have to know exact address of Point A and Point B and you couldn’t track the operator in real-time so good luck checking never ). Uber useds too can decide if they miss love to be able to access their location data, as in use Uber’s beings to beings feature.

Each of these features will become available to users over the coming weeks, according to TechCrunch .

This upright was updated to clarify what happens when you check never for location business on Uber .

WATCH: This NYU student disappeared undercover as a worker in a Chinese iPhone factory

Read more: http :// mashable.com/ 2017/04/ 28/ uber-delete-uber-privacy-updates /

Advertisements